Tags

, ,

Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone, #1)Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone is ‘paranormal’, the start of a fantasy series , but it feels as true as life. This story caught me up in the first paragraph and didn’t let me down until the tale was told. It’s not enough to say it was engaging. It’s more than that. The unfolding pages become part of life’s experiences, like a memory – something that happened that you still want to think about long after.

Laini Taylor is a lyrical writer, her prose as seductive as the characters she awakens. I love the weaving of original ideas with mythologies we all grew up with. For those familiar with seraphim and chimaera, you’re in for a treat! The Daughter of Smoke and Bone is both familiar and strange, and utterly believable. What a wonderful way to reexamine ideas of good and evil, love and hate, and most relevant, the prejudices we inherit and hold on to when we have no idea why. There are layers of connection and meaning that are not spelled out, or over explained, but released at perfect moments, so rewarding for the reader. I very much looking forward to the next in the series! When will that be, I wonder?

View all my reviews

