The Scorpio Races (Sneak Peek)The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Scorpio Races still haunts me, even a month after I finished it. Darkly poetic, this story pulled me into a world almost like ours, but not quite. The world building is subtle. It sits in the background where it belongs until the energy of the island builds to a point it becomes a character in itself. Brilliant.

And, the water horses . . . what rich creatures Stiefvater has created. They are beautiful, majestic, deadly, as much a part of the island and the wild sea as the people who try to ride them. Captivate from the first page to the last and more than once moved to tears, this story is one of the ones for me. The writing is invisible; we are there, not reading about being there, which makes the story as real as memory.

Why is this such a powerful and engaging read? Maggie Stiefvater knows horses, the sea and human hearts. One of the best books I’ve read this year. Highly recommended.

View all my reviews

