Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

VampiresGoneWild

The Supernatural Underground author, and friend, Helen Lowe, tagged me to do a “Next Big Thing.” I’m still rounding up people to tag, but I best get this part of it out on time! It’s all about my Next Big Thing!

1) What is the working title of your next book?

Blood and Water, appearing the The Supernatural Underground anthology, Vampires Gone Wild.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

I brainstormed it in 24 hours when the opportunity to contribute came up. The HarperCollins USA editor, Erika Tsang said to us Supernatural Underground authors, who wants in? I raised my hand. She said let’s see what you’ve got and I pulled this novella out of a deep, dark, unconscious corner of my mind. The Muse of this world was confronting in so many ways, but worth it.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

It’s an Avon Impulse story, so ‘paranormal romance.’ My first!

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Ian Somerhalder playing Stellan Fletcher.

damon-mnn_3

And, Deborah Ann Woll as Angelina.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

San Francisco 1906, three days before the great earthquake, Stellan rises from his watery tomb, wanting nothing from “landers” — unless it’s dinner, but that’s before he meets Angelina . . .

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

This is an Avon Impulse book, published by HarperCollins USA. My agent is Nicole Resciniti of the Seymour Agency in NY. She’s the best!

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

Blood and Water is a 16k word novella and it took me 10 days to write the first draft. Much of that was research, as it’s set in SF, 1906 just prior to a major quake, before the construction of the Golden Gate Bridge. There was so much to immerse in, the Model A cars, the fashion, the mannerisms, photography, the Bay ferryboats, women’s suffrage. Emancipation. Queen Anne homes. Elements of steampunk. It’s all in there!

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Other vampiric, historical works of the paranormal romantic hue. I am thinking Souless meets True Blood meets The Vampire Diaries (1864 flashbacks).

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

A John Watherhouse painting called The Siren started it all.

This story, with my vampire-esque ‘Mar’, a race who live beneath the sea, has been brewing in me for years. I have a lot of passion for it (I’m writing two separate Mar series right now). You could say, I’m obsessed. Blood and Water is the first glimpse of this world. Also, I wanted to have lunch on San Francisco’s Fisherman’s Wharf again! It’s been too long. See the mood board for this novella on Pinterest.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Sensual, spell binding, sexy and cinematic, Blood and Water will stay with you long after you finish the last page . . .

I have five authors to officially #tag and am waiting for them to get back to me with links. Meanwhile, check out:

Helen Lowe
Mary Victoria
Elspeth Cooper
Red Tash
Alison Goodman

